THE SHOW HAS COME TO AN END

I am free!!! My finals just ended last night with the closure of the VCU fashion show at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. I have taken this entire day to relax and unwind as a personal reward—I mean, I did also purchase some sunglasses. Overall, I am happy with how this semester turned out. I was recognized by VCU’s fashion’s department head as the outstanding fashion design student for the sophomore class. I do not think this honor came with any money, but sometimes all that is really desired is the recognition. This honor was such a wonderful surprise for me that helped me finish my school year strong. I will be posting my finals soon hopefully. But, once again, I am backed up with things that need to be posted first! This is always a good thing though, I would rather have more content to post than not enough.

Circling back to the fashion show; I was there as a dresser backstage. The entire sophomore class was required to participate as head dressers for the show. We were responsible for helping the models dress so that nothing ripped or was put on incorrectly. Some may think this is a simple task, but looking at it as a designer myself, it is an incredibly daunting thought. You could destroy the garment that a senior had been working on all year, or not send it out as intended, therefore ruining the effect that the senior had worked hard to create. When I become a senior, I hope that whoever is dressing the model with my clothes will take great care, basically guarding the garment with their lives. There was one garment that ripped for another dresser unfortunately. They had to sew the model into the skirt in order to send it down the runway. But I suppose this is not uncommon within fashion shows.

I am so happy to be relieved of that show, as well as my finals so I can sleep and relax once again for a good two and half months. I wanted to post some pictures of my outfits from finals and some from the fashion show as well!

IMG_7094
This is my mock Dorothy top, I will most likely do another photoshoot with this top! I love it too much to have it only exist here!!!!
IMG_7118
This top is fairy goals all the way!!!
IMG_7119
When you go to art school, anywhere you might be judged or critiqued, or even just…the world, sometimes its a good idea to take the precautionary step of wearing your evil eyes to ward off all the evil and negativity before it even reaches you. Long story short, I wore my evil eyes to crit!
IMG_7114
This was me yesterday morning for my final crit. I am a bit worn and torn but overall, I made it out alive and not looking like a complete mess!!!
IMG_7121
I would also like to do a proper tee-shirt Tuesday with this top that was given to us for helping with the show because I kinda love it!!!
IMG_7126
The commotion backstage, and the show has not even started yet!!! But you can tell we really were at a museum.
IMG_7096
This is a detail shot that a model allowed me to take, I wish I knew the model or the designer but I just was not paying attention! But is it not absolutely gorgeous!!!
IMG_7125
This was literally at the end of the night. My co-dresser and I had to take a quick shot!
Leave a Reply

