TEE-SHIRT TUESDAY

Today’s tee is a weird one, and coincidentally, formally owned by my mother. It is from a museum but I cannot determine if the image is cool or creepy. Every now and then I get inspired by a certain style of cartooning that always has an element of slightly disturbing. I like this mode of cartooning for many reasons. I think it gives innocence and wonder to more mature concepts. I love the color palettes and character styles that come out of these types of cartoons; they are less saturated and more complex than children’s illustrations. I try to make my illustrations more realistic while also allowing for a style to show through. The illustration resting on my tee-shirt is so weird, especially in what the character is doing, but it is also something that makes you want to create a story to give him context. And any opportunity for imagination insertion is well worth taking nowadays. With every answer handed to us on a silver platter, we need to leave some room for mystery of the unknown. We do not have know everything, but we can still wonder and dream about it.

img_5377

img_5378
Cheap fashion hack—in case you haven’t noticed, I really like chokers! That does not mean I like paying for shoelaces and ribbons that I already have lying around. Seriously, it is the simplest, on-trend accessory that one can fashion on their own. I almost have to give props to the marketing team that is able to make chokers the must-have trend and also convince everyone that they must pay top dollar for them! Also, try a white ribbon. I see too many black chokers and, don’t get me wrong, I love them! But I feel like white has such a pretty effect as well:)
Leave a Reply

